My favourites of 2015 – a fantastic year for books!

This year has been a fantastic year for books I truly feel like we are in a golden age of children’s publishing with so many amazing books to choose from. All of the books in my list I have read and recommended and have had great feedback from children who have enjoyed them. I didn’t manage to review all of the books on my lists but you can follow the links highlighted below to read the ones I did.

Here are my Picture Books choices for 2015 all stunningly illustrated and beautifully written.

Collage 2015-12-02 17_12_25

Love is My Favourite Thing – Emma Chichester Clark

The Giant of Jum – Elli Woollard Benji Davies

The Princess and the Giant – Caryl Hart  & Sarah Warburton

Grrrrr – Rob Biddulph

Imelda and the Goblin King – Briony May Smith

Grandad’s Island – Benji Davies

Please Mr Panda – Steve Antony

Space Dog – MIni Grey

Oi Frog – Kes Gray & Jim Field

The Day The Crayons Came Home – Drew Daywalt & Oliver Jeffers

There has been an wonderful collection of Illustrated Books released this year and these are the ones that captured my imagination this year.

illustratedbooks2015

The Great Cheese Robbery – Chris Mould

Dixie O’ Day and the Haunted House – Shirley Hughes & Clara Vulliamy

Knitbone Pepper Ghost Dog – Claire Barker & Ross Collins

Squishy McFluff Meets Mad Nana Dot – Pip Jones & Ella Okstad

Pugs of the Frozen North – Philip Reeve & Sarah McIntyre

Harper and the Scarlet Umbrella – Cerrie Burnell & Laura Ellen Anderson

Mango and Bambang – Polly Faber & Clara Vulliamy

Wigglesbottom Primary The Toilet Ghost – Pamela Butchart & Becka Moor

Claude Lights! Camera! Action! – Alex T. Smith

The Cave of Doom – Jonny Duddle

 

And finally my favourite Middle Grade (8 – 12 years) books from this year these are the books that kept me so entertained that I couldn’t put them down. Truly brilliant reads!

finalficbooks2015

The Boy Who Sailed The Ocean In An Armchair – Lara Williamson

My Brother is a Superhero – David Solomons

The Wolf Wilder – Katherine Rundell

The Accidental Prime Minister – Tom McLaughlin

Stonebird – Mike Revell

The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow – Katherine Woodfine

The Dreamsnatcher – Abi Elphinstone

First Class Murder – Robin Stevens

In Darkling Wood – Emma Carroll

Demoliton Dad – Phil Earle

A big thank you to everyone who has visited my blog this year I really appreciate all your support I am truly grateful. Also to all the authors, publishers and publicists who have kindly sent me books to review so that I can share them with you another huge thank you.

I think 2016 is going to be another amazing year there are so many books I’m eagerly anticipating release and I can’t wait to share them with you.

 

4 thoughts on “My favourites of 2015 – a fantastic year for books!

  1. Pingback: Scaredy Cat, Scaredy Cat – Phil Earle & Sar Ogilvie | bookloverjo

  2. Pingback: Storey Street Series – Phil Earle & Sara Ogilvie | bookloverjo

Leave a Reply

