My Top Five Cats in Books – Guest Post Katrina Charman

Cover final

To celebrate the release of ‘Poppy’s Place’  by Katrina Charman with illustrations by Lucy Truman I have a special guest post. I am delighted to welcome Katrina Charman to my blog to tell us about her Top 5 cats in books.

Katrina Charman

1. Mog by Judith Kerr

This mischievous cat will always have a special place in my heart. I grew up loving the Mog books, and reading them over and over again. It has been lovely to be able to share them with my daughters. Although, I have to admit it was almost impossible to read Goodbye Mog to my youngest daughter without bawling my eyes out.

 

2. Gryff from Abi Elphinstone’s The Dreamsnatcher

I might be cheating a little bit with this one as Gryff is a wildcat, but I absolutely loved the relationship between Gryff and Moll. Gryff is not your average cat, but Moll is not your average girl, and the two are as wild as each other. Gryff is always there for Moll when she needs him, and they have an unbreakable bond that shows how much an animal can mean to a human.

 

3. Church from Cassandra Clare’s Mortal Instruments and Infernal Devices series

This immortal cat pops up somewhere in most of Cassandra Clare’s books, and even though he gets very few lines, he’s one of my favourite characters. I love his indignant personality and the way he interacts (as most cats often do) with an absolute indifference to some of the main characters, as though it is beneath him to even acknowledge the shadowhunters and their drama.

 

4. Crookshanks from J.K.Rowling’s Harry Potter series

If I didn’t include Crookshanks in this list, my daughter would never forgive me. Crookshanks is slightly underrated, with Argus Filch’s cat, Mrs Norris stealing the limelight when she’s petrified in The Chamber of Secrets. Don’t forget though, that Crookshanks never trusted Ron’s rat, Scabbers who was in fact the traitorous Peter Pettigrew (which I’m sure Crookshanks knew all along).

 

5. The Cat in the hat by Dr. Seuss

I love anything and everything written by Dr. Seuss, but top of the list has to be the Cat in the Hat books. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve read this book to my kids – along with Green Eggs and Ham, I could probably recite the book from memory! The cat is extremely cheeky and causes maximum mischief for the children in the book (and a lot of stress for the poor fish!) but he has their best interests at heart and shows the children how to have some much needed fun!

Why not join in with the rest of the blog tour for more fantastic guest posts and reviews.

blog tour banner

Leave a Reply

