The OMG Blog – Karen McCombie

the omg blog

‘The OMG Blog’ by Karen Mc Combie is a delightful book which explores friendship and families and provides a perfect transition read for children looking for the next step. It is definitely more tween than teen in the very best of ways. Full of warmth and humour it tackles the realities of family life and friendship. Everything about this book is massively appealing from the truly stunning cover to the variety of diverse characters. It is fun and really on trend and I’m sure it will be very popular in my school library.

When Jessie, Shanice, Rose and Zarah find themselves in detention, they seem to have nothing in common in fact they couldn’t be anymore different if they tried. But when they’re challenged to take part in a blogging competition it seems they do have one big thing in common – crazy mums! ‘The (O)ur (M)ums – (G)rrr’ blog is born out of their frustrations and annoyance of being embarrassed on a daily basis. But as the blog’s popularity increases will they be able to hide behind their online identity or will their mums find them out?

This book made me laugh out loud as I cringed at the Mums’ behaviours recognising myself in a lot of the characters. I’ve been the PTA Mum who is always around so that your children can never escape from you. I’ve dressed up as Alice in Wonderland at the age of 39 in the my children’s school ( I do work there so I’m not totally crazy). And when I asked my daughter which of the Mums I was most like she said “All of them!!!” I was a little bit shocked although she probably is very accurate. But I do feel it is my prerogative as a Mum to embarrass my children, although it’s often not on purpose just when I’m failing miserably to be on trend. I love that the story looks at the girl’s relationships with their families, it is more than just laughing at crazy mums.  It has a real warmth and at the heart of it recognises the importance of family and friendships.

This book will definitely appeal to fans of the blogging sensation Zoella, who seems to be incredibly popular with our year 6 girls. We all know that children are very social media savvy these days. They are really aware of Blogging, Vlogging, Instagram and Snapchat and this takes a  light hearted look at the problems they can cause for children. At the back of the book is a really useful guide to having fun and staying safe online, which I found very reassuring as a parent.

If you’ve enjoyed this review and want to find out more you can get a sneak peek of ‘The OMG Blog’ and read the first chapter here.

‘The OMG Blog’ is a new imprint from Barrington Stoke designed to make middle grade books (8 – 12 years)  accessible to all children, you can find out more here. Thank you to Barrington Stoke for sending me a copy of this book to review.

Leave a Reply

