Top 5 places to write – Andy Briggs Guest Post

I am delighted to welcome Andy Briggs to the blog today as part of his ‘Gravity’ blog tour. ‘Gravity’ is the second book in the fast paced new adventure series ‘Inventory’ series, packed with high-tech thrills and excitment. The Inventory is a collection of the most incredible technology the world is NOT ready for. Dev’s uncle is the Inventory’s sole curator, so he has grown up amongst some crazy things. In this sequel to ‘Iron Fist’, it’s up to Dev and his friends to recover technology that was stolen in Shadow Helix’s raid on the Inventory.

gravity

Top Five Places to Write

To write you need to be in the moment and in the mood, which means finding the ideal writing place is critical if you want to write anything more than a page at a time. Like most writers, I have my study which is designed for optimal writing performance. I have my desk, a comfy chair and am surrounded by inspirational posters and a selection of toys… um, I mean collectables… to inspire me.

Of course, that doesn’t work.

I find my study is a great place to write outlines and treatments, but when it comes to heavy duty book writing there are just too many distractions. So I move into the lounge and force myself to write as much as possible (such as this blog!) – with the TV off. Turning on the TV then becomes a reward for when I finish the planned scene or chapter.

When that doesn’t work, I move to location three – the library. I have tried working in the public library and, like coffee shops, it offers too many distractions. At home I have a small library filled with my favourite books, travel souvenirs and a fish tank… which is very relaxing. It also allows me to focus on the story without any distractions.

I often have lots of meetings for my scriptwriting work, which means heading into London. That may seem like a huge distraction but (to my own surprise) I find I can do a hugely focused burst of writing on the train. At times I have written more on the journey to and from home than I have in an entire day at my desk. It has now become part of my writing ritual!

The last place is utterly terrible for actual writing, but perfect for proof reading and generating new ideas – and that is a generic place called travel. Whether that is in a hotel room while zooming around the country on a book tour or travelling to some country I have never been to, simply for inspiration, I find that a change in scenery helps reset my imagination. While a new culture and amazing scenery is the perfect requirement to come up with a new idea…

Andy Briggs

andybriggsfinal

Andy Briggs is a screenwriter, producer and author of the Hero.com, Villain.net and Tarzan series. Andy has worked on film development for Paramount and Warner Bros, as well as working with Marvel Comics legend Stan Lee and producer Robert Evans. With a strong social media following, Andy tours the UK regularly, doing festival, school and library events.

You can follow Andy on Twitter @abriggswriter or visit his website to find out more.

Blog Tour

You can join in with the rest of the blog tour for more reviews and guest posts.

gravity-blog-tour

Monday 17th October

Fiction Fascination

Heather Reviews

Tuesday 18th October

Kirsty Leanne

Emma’s Bookery

Wednesday 19th October

Bookish Outsider

Book Lover Jo

Thursday 20th October

YA Under My Skin

Luna’s Little Library

Friday 21st October

ArtsMum

Wonderfully Bookish

Saturday 22nd October

Library Girl and Book Boy

Sunday 23rd October

An Awfully Big Adventure

Monday 24th October

Tales of Yesterday

YA Yeah Yeah

Tuesday 25th October

It Takes a Woman

Sister Spooky

Wednesday 26th October

Bibliobeth

The Books Bandit

Thursday 27th October

MG Strikes Back

Read it Daddy

Friday 28th October

Snuggling on the Sofa

Live Otherwise

Saturday 29th October

Bart’s Bookshelf

Sunday 30th October

Kirstyes

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

