Bad Mermaids – Sibéal Pounder & Jason Cockcroft

Being  huge fans in my house of Sibéal Pounder’s fabulous ‘Witch Wars’ series, I was delighted to do the cover reveal for the first book in her new series ‘Bad Mermaids.’ So you can imagine the squeals of excitement when an early copy landed on our doormat one morning, only for it to disappear into my daughter’s bedroom who claimed the first read of this much anticipated book. I eventually persuaded her to give my the copy back so that I could share it with you and having read it, I now know why she didn’t want to give it to me back, because it’s just glorious.

Mermaids Beattie, Mimi and Zelda are enjoying what you might call a ‘legcation’. An idea put in place by the Queen of the Lagoon Arabella Cod to stop young mermaids spending all their time dreaming of having legs and living on land – yes Ariel has a lot to answer for! They’re enjoying their summer on land with legs when they receive a strange Crabagram ordering them to return home at once cutting their holiday short. Instructed to return to Swirlyshell by the back pipe entrance they are confused, only to discover the reason why! There are bad mermaids on the loose and only they can stop them!

I absolutely loved ‘Bad Mermaids’!Sibéal has constructed this zany underwater world of The Hidden Lagoon that she realises with the most wonderful and hilarious details. Who wouldn’t want a clam car with sculpted coral seats, sea-lion proof windows and a shell-studded exterior! Packed full of puns and laughs, readers will be giggling along with this seatastic tale, it really made me and my daughter chuckle. It’s a real page turner, as this fast paced and exciting tales whizzes us around the lagoon with our fabulous heroines, who are trying to evade the evil piranhas as they hunt for Arabella Cod who has mysteriously disappeared. With twists and turns aplenty, it becomes apparent that this is no easy mystery to solve.  Just when you thought it couldn’t get any more marvellous,  then along comes Jason Cockcroft with the most sublime illustrations capturing the energy and humour of Sibéal’s story brilliantly. Unfortunately I have only seen a proof copy so I’m really excited to see the completed version with the final illustrations inside. If you love magical mysteries, fabulous fashion, and loathsome baddies then this is the book for you!  I predict this new series will be a triumph, it gets a huge thumbs up from me and my daughter and I can see it being an instant hit in my school library.

Thank you to Bloomsbury for sending me a proof copy of this brilliant book, ‘Bad Mermaids is released on 1st June and is available to pre-order online or from any good bookshop,

Leave a Reply

