Fascinating Fact books for Older Readers

2017 has brought with it a wealth of glorious new non-fiction books for children and today I will be sharing my favourite choices for younger and older readers. Each of these books are wonderfully interactive and feature the most vibrant illustrations and photographs to capture the imaginations of the reader.

The Anti – Boredom Book of Brilliant Outdoor Things to Do – Andy Seed & Scott Garrett

The phrase that is bound to fill any parent with dread up and down the country from their child is, “I’M BORED!” I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve told my girls  “go and play outside and get some fresh air if you’re bored” only to be met with the same responses “It’s boring outside there is nothing to do!!” Fear not because Andy Seed has come to the rescue just in time to save us from the depths of despair with the fabulous ‘The Anti-Boredom Book of Brilliant Outdoor Things to Do Outside’ which is packed with tons of activities to stave off those cries from bored children. Want to know how to make a rainbow, set a bug tap. construct an awesome summer slide or make a water balloon piñata then this is the book for you! With things to do in the garden, at the beach and even on a rainy day this has everything and more. Scott Garrett’s hilarious illustrations capture the fun and silliness of this book brilliantly, it is a perfect book to get children outside we loved it in my house!

Women in Science – 50 Fearless Pioneers Who Changed the World – Rachel Ignotofsky

‘Women in Science’ is a remarkable book celebrating 50 women throughout history who defied the odds to succeed in the worlds of science, technology, engineering and mathematics. Refusing to accept the limitations placed on their sex they worked tirelessly to achieve their goals. Featuring a fascinating introduction into why women have faced barriers and how they overcame the obstacles put before them. Throughout history many women who are not necessarily well-known have made significant contributions to the scientific world and this book seeks to highlight and celebrate them. Stunningly illustrated and wonderfully compelling this book deserves to be in every school library, it’s an absolute joy of a book.

The Earth Book – Jonathan Litton & Thomas Hegbrook

‘The Earth Book’ takes us on a voyage of discovery around a tiny sphere in space  – which to us is in fact a huge and fascinating world called planet Earth where the life of humans is only one tiny part of it. Exploring the wonders of the world we are taken to the four corners of the globe to examine animal habitats, super cities, oceans and deserts to try and understand how our planet has evolved. Sublimely illustrated and irresistibly informative, this book covers the most complex of topics but presents then in a truly accessible format. It is the kind of book that you can dip in and out of depending on what part of our planet you would like to delve into. Perfect for children who love to wonder at the world all around them.

Off With their Heads/ I Wish I Knew That – Buster Books

 

Does your child have an insatiable appetite for facts and loves to know details about anything and everything, if so Buster Books new reference series is what you need. I’ve have seen the first two books in this series ‘Off With Their Heads’ and ‘I Wish I Knew That’ both of which are crammed with cool stuff that you might not have had a chance to find out yet at school. Ideal for fans of ‘Horrible Histories’ they are bursting with all the best bits from history and every other subject you can imagine. I can see them being a huge hit in my school library for those children who love to devour information books.

Lesser Spotted Animals – Matt Brown

So you’ve heard of a Gorilla but what about a Zorilla? And we’ve all heard of Wombats but how about a Numbat. Martin Brown takes us on a journey to discover the brilliant beasts that you probably haven’t heard about. Children will laugh out loud as the find out all the funny facts about these creatures they have never met before. With hilarious illustrations this quirky look at the animal kingdom lets you find out things you never knew you needed to know! There is so much humour lurking within the pages that you can’t help but want to read more. Witty and wise a real gem of a book.

Thank you to Bloomsbury, Buster Books, David Fickling Press, Little Tiger Press and Wren and Rook for sending me copies of these fabulous fact books.

Advertisements

One thought on “Fascinating Fact books for Older Readers

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s