Cover Reveal – Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt, illustrated by Chris Mould

Something very dark and spooky is happening on the blog today, prepare to be chilled and totally spooked by this exclusive revelation.  I’m really excited (and a little bit scared)  to be sharing with you today the cover of the fantastically talented Will Mabbitt’s first book in his new series, illustrated by Chris Mould. ‘Embassy of the Dead’  will be published on the 14th June 2018 by Orion children’s books.

So without further ado here it is…….

Oohh isn’t it just spooktastic and just a little bit terrifying, the strapline ‘Leave your life at the door (thanks)’ is intriguingly dark and I really need to find out more. Illustrated by the ridiculously talented Chris Mould with cover design by Sophie Stericker it certainly hints about the living and the dead being thrown together unexpectedly. I love how Chris’s illustrations are so intricately detailed and downright humorous capturing the spirit of the story with every brushstroke. Now I’m desperate to find out more,  so let’s see what the ‘Embassy of the Dead’ has in store for those who are brave enough to enter……

The Embassy of the Dead

The first book in a spookily funny new series, where the living meets the dead and survival is a race against time. Perfect for fans of Skulduggery Pleasant and Who Let the Gods Out.

Welcome to the Embassy of the Dead. Leave your life at the door. (Thanks.)

When Jake opens a strange box containing a severed finger, he accidentally summons a grim reaper to drag him to the Eternal Void (yep, it’s as fatal as it sounds) and now he’s running for his life! But luckily Jake isn’t alone – he can see and speak to ghosts.

Jake and his deadly gang (well dead, at least) – Stiffkey the undertaker, hockey stick-wielding, Cora, and Zorro the ghost fox – have one mission: find the Embassy of the Dead and seek protection. But the Embassy has troubles of its own and may not be the safe haven Jake is hoping for . . .

Will Mabbitt

Will Mabbitt has an overactive imagination. It used to get him in trouble but now it’s his job. His first book, The Unlikely Adventures of Mabel Jones, was shortlisted for the Branford Boase Award. He’s achieved little of else note, preferring to spend his time loitering in graveyards. He can also be found wandering the streets of Brighton in a daze. He is probably having an idea. He lives with his family, in Lewes, on the south coast of England.

Chris Mould

Chris Mould has been a freelance illustrator. since graduating from Leeds Polytechnic in 1991. He went to art school at the age of sixteen. Chris lives with his wife and two daughters in Bradford, West Yorkshire. His work has can be seen in children’s books, magazines, newspapers and many other forms of printed matter.

A huge thank you to Dom and Orion for inviting me to host the cover reveal, I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy. ‘Embassy of the Dead’ is available to pre-order now online or from any good bookshop.

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Cover Reveal – Embassy of the Dead by Will Mabbitt, illustrated by Chris Mould

  1. Ruth Berry

    Hurrah! Can’t wait to fill the Mabel Jones void in both my daughter’s and mine lives! Having seen Will Mabbitt’s attempts at drawing worms I am relieved he has Chris Mould as his illustrator!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.